My best friend and I have had a long distance friendship for over 4 years. He was the one person who gently picked me up like a bird with a broken wing and helped me heal. When I was ready to fly again he encouraged me. Then when I was really ready he kicked me out of the nest for fear that my contentment would turn to complacency. Though I know how to fly, and many times do…a bluebird among the eagles, I know where his nest is when i need him. His is filled with comfort and warmth, love, nurturing and protection! He taught me by example what a nest requires and now I have my own.

The greatest thing he did was teach me to unlearn the lies that were brainwashed in my head and to believe in myself.

People walk along the path we travel in life and they are there for a specific reason. Some we see in bitterness because of pain we associate with them while others we grieve as we part, afraid the joy we felt with them will never be felt again.

I believe we are meant to learn from everyone in our lives, good or bad. The good is obvious. The bad…we learn the signs of breakdown and failure, of pain and heartache. Hopefully we learn from these people and don’t have to repeat the lesson to learn it.

Whether it be a life companion or a fan cheering us on. The friends travel longer on our path than others do. Some travel a lifetime and are part of who we are as a person.

What we must remember… We travel in and out of others’ lives and give to them also. Choose what you do with care.

